Teachers & Advisers
Parents & Carers

Education Pathways

There are a range of routes and pathways available at each stage of someone’s education. Some of these are compulsory (Level 2 and 3) and some are optional (Level 4+). Use the table below to explore how different qualification types can act as stepping stones to higher level qualifications and click on each of the options to find out more. 

Level Qualification
Entry Entry Level Qualifications
1 GCSE 1-3/D-G BTEC Firsts (Certificate & Diploma) Traineeship NVQ
2 GCSE 4-9/A*-C Intermediate Apprenticeship
3 A Level T Level BTEC Nationals (Extended Diploma & Subsidiary Diploma) Access to HE Diploma Advanced Apprenticeship
4 Certificate of HE Higher National Certificate Higher National Diploma Foundation Degree Higher Apprenticeship
5 Diploma of HE
6 Bachelors Degree Degree Apprenticeship
7 Masters Degree
8 Doctorate